Back from the Island…

It’s been more than a week now that I’ve returned to Germany from my work experience stay in Bristol. What can I say? It’s been a tearful goodbye (for my part, at least ;) ) and I had a marvellous time.

I knew that writing was my thing, and so was music, but I never knew combining both could be so much fun. I learned such a big deal about classical music, improved my writing skills and discovered my preference for Liszt (explore Khatia Buniatishvili playing his works – she is an incredible talent), Wagner (whose overlong operas I dreaded until I couldn’t get the ‘Sailor’s Chorus‘ from The Flying Dutchman off my mind) and Respighi (what a wonderful composer – if you have the time, do listen to his ‘Italiana’, the first movement of the  Third Suite from Antiche Danze ed Arie).

I believe that spending your time abroad, doing things you’ve never done before as well as living and working together with the most wonderful people changes your personality. It changed mine, that’s for sure. Classical music soothes my temper and knowing as much as possible about it makes me happy. It makes me feel smart and really really calm at the same time. I enjoy talking about music with people who share my passion and my stay has made me much more confident speaking English.

What’s more is that I realised that I need to go to concerts more often. Flicking through music websites each morning to look for interesting stories showed me that so much happens every day in the musical world. And the best thing of all is that I now know what I really want: to have a job where I can write about music that I love.
And maybe move to England. My head almost explodes because it’s so full of ideas, I’m determined to make something really special out of my life. Thanks, everyone from BBC Music Mag for making me feel so good and helping me with everything.

There is a life after university and I can’t wait to live it!!

One thought on “Back from the Island…

  1. Pingback: Rising Star: Khatia Buniatishvili « Culture and Arts

Leave a Reply

