Long Time No Hear… or: Love Dies, But Music Lives Forever

So sorry you haven’t heard from me in such a long time – I’ve been through way too many troubles and university distracts me a bit at the moment. Anyway, this doesn’t mean I haven’t been going out to various cultural events – first of all, there was Gustav Jenner (who? you might ask – that’s exactly what I thought).

Aya Ohtsuta (c) by Jeannine Kannwischer

The student association of my course organised a multimedia concert entitled JENNER KOMMT (Jenner is coming) evening with ambitious young artists – pianists Solvejg Henkhaus, Hannah Brazel, Toshihiro Kato, Aya Ohtsuta and violinist Stephan Gröger – in Marburg. The concert offered different piano pieces from Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) and his only composition student Gustav Jenner (1865-1920), who was a professor at Philipps-University Marburg. Most impressive was Aya Ohtsuta’s performance of Brahms’ Eight Pieces for Piano op.76, presenting the audience an exceptional expression and talent. Some pieces were visualised by impressionistic film strips, live ballet performances and others by live close-ups of the artists’ hands on the piano / violin. Stephan Gröger, who accompanied Toshihiro Kato with his violin to Brahms’ Scherzo c-minor WoO 2, was party out of tune and had not always a perfect intonation. Nevertheless, the concert was brilliantly organised and mediated, plus the entrance was free and the pieces were carefully selected.

My second date that week was the play in which one of my closest friends starred – a youth club production of the Theatre Mainz called To Do!  

The story is simple: What are today’s generation’s worst fears, expectations of life and dreams? 21 adolescents presented their answers in a simple, frame: a giant To-Do-List. I have seldom seen such real but yet acted emotions and passion – I had to think about the facebook-generation, where children rarely go out and do something creative. I was kind of relieved to recognise myself in the renditions of the young actors, eventually we all have one thing in common: youth. But also, a hectic lifestyle. Today’s kids are so much under pressure, the term ‘freetime’ has completely changed its meaning. So in the end, the TiC-crew suggested with a song by SAEZ: Jeunesse, lève-toi! (Youth, get up!) What a clear message – and so true.

My last cultural highlight so far (until now) were the Lovedrunks concert in my hometown at DasRind. Rather spontaneously I decided to go, and I have to say I had such a splendid evening. The Lovedrunks (founded in 2004), consisting of Sascha Kaub (vocals, guitar), Holger Kamke (vocals, keyboard), Billy Karakoulakis (guitar), Frederik Fink (drums) and Daniil Pakhomenko (bass),  have established a quite respectable reputation in this area and beyond. Describing their style as ‘pop music’, their songs are catchy, yet thoughtful and poetic (quote: ‘Love dies, but music lives forever’)- mostly dealing with the struggles of love. The evening offered a colourful potpourri of the last past years of the band, including songs from their records Let’s Focus on the Present and Light Bulbs Explode and new ones. Special guests were Christian Bartl and the extremely talented boys from DeWinter, presenting Indie pop with a slight folk influence.  All in all a fabulous evening – as my friend turned to me and said ‘Self-made music makes me so happy’, I couldn’t have agreed more.

The Lovedrunks (c) Annette Heinze

Leave a Reply

